Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Ooohh I’ve been waiting for this review! This book gets the awards for “Plot twists I didn’t see coming” and “fool me twice, shame on me”. Seriously. If you haven’t read it, stop, go get it and then come back. It’s that good.

gonegirl

Overview: This book is about a couple, Nick and Amy, who have fallen on some hard times due to layoffs and move from their lives in NYC to Nick’s hometown in Missouri. Amy hates his home town, but tries to make the best of it because they are both out of work and Nick’s dad has become ill. On the day of their 5th year anniversary Nick receives a call from his neighbor that his front door is wide open. When he gets home he finds his house trashed and Amy gone. (Get it, gone girl haha) An investigation is opened into her disappearance, but all of the clues point to Nick being the bad guy.

The story receives a lot of media attention because Amy is a well off trust fund girl who is the inspiration behind the Amazing Amy book series written by her seemingly perfect parents. In the beginning, her parents have full confidence behind Nick and believe that Amy will come home. However, as the case unfolds, more and more evidence seems to point to Nick as the culprit, and even Amy’s parents remove their faith in him. It seems as if the only person who is backing him is his twin sister Margot. However, as more of Nick’s lies are revealed, even Margot has a hard time believing her brother. Flynn sends you on a wild ride, forcing you to rethink your alliances with every chapter, and yes, serving up some major plot twists that will have your head spinning.

I gave this book 4/5 stars, but it is really hard to explain why I didn’t give it 5 stars without revealing the plot. Just know, you will not be disappointed at all. I highly suggest reading it before getting to my spoilers. Seriously! Go!

**KEEP READING FOR SPOILERS**

Okay, spoiler summary go! Part one: we are led to believe Nick has killed Amy because he fantasizes about committing violent acts toward her, admits that he has been lying to the police, we find out he has a girl on the side, and the evidence is basically pointing his way. So at this point you’re thinking, open and shut case. Nick is such an asshole why did he kill poor Amy? Why was he cheating on her? Why did he beat her? (according to Amy’s journal that is)

Then you get to part two and realize THIS B****! Seriously! Amy has been alive this entire time. She faked this whole thing: the diary, her death, the blood, the trashed apartment, the clues to their anniversary scavenger hunt that are conveniently hidden in places where Nick and his mistress have had sex (she is good, but vengeful), and planned this for an entire year!!! She is crazy!!! This is where I start to hate Amy, and is the reason why I ultimately gave the book 4 stars. Amy is a psychopath. She went through all of these theatrics because Nick fell in love with the person she was pretending to be, and then got a new girlfriend. Instead of just leaving him or trying to work it out… We get this. I was highly annoyed with her hysterics. She thought she had to be perfect although no one ever put that on her. She also very clearly needed medical attention. You’re that mad that you set up your death for a year?! Insane. Completely insane.

So bad stuff happens to Amy (rightly so!) while Nick is at home getting pissed because he knows she did this some how but he has to pretend for the media like he’s the grieving husband when all he wants to do is actually snap her crazy neck. Don’t get me wrong, Nick is a big hunking piece of crap too. I think Flynn wanted you to hate the characters because I did. There was not a single person in the book I liked from start to finish. But, this is true of real life, so it works. But Amy then goes crying to one of her previous boyfriends from high school who is filthy rich and also psychotic, and he stashes her away until she gets better. Well, Amy doesn’t like this situation either so she kills him too, runs back to Nick and blames everything on Desi. What a B. (This happens in part three)

At the end of the story Nick and Amy are expecting a baby. They seem to have worked out their differences, although Nick still walks on eggshells around Amy. The book ends with Nick telling Amy he pities her because she has to wake up and be her. Amy doesn’t like this and we’re left to speculate on how this will turn out.

Reasons why I’m mad. DA HELL. Amy is a royal pain in the butt from cover to cover. How does Nick put up with her? Yes, Nick is a jerk, but even he doesn’t deserve to live with someone who isn’t all together there. Amy is brilliant, but she is perfect to a fault. As a main character she was maddening. I yell at books. I yelled at Amy. A lot. She dragged everyone into this mess because she was mad. Are you kidding me? Privilege at its best. I also wish they didn’t get back together. I also wish Nick didn’t have a mistress. (A student at that!)

But, Flynn gets major author points for keeping me engaged and guessing throughout the entire story. I knew for sure Nick was guilty. Then I knew for sure Amy was going to die in that little shack. Then I knew for sure her and Desi were going to end up together. Or he was going to kill her. I never in a million years imagined she would get back with Nick. I mean… Honestly?

For a great, plot twisting story, I gave Gone Girl 4/5 stars. I highly suggest it.

=)

Ahhhh…. I’m back :D

It has been a while. I shouldn’t have left you (left you) without a dope beat to step to an explanation. I’m sorry! But I’m back (kinda) and although I won’t be updating too often, I am going to try and finish up the many posts I left off from last year. Then I will embark on the reading challenge for 2014. Hopefully I won’t let it get too out of hand :O 

I’ve got a fresh new layout, updated the 2013 Reading List to reflect all the books I read. Now on to the reviews …